Skip to main content Accessibility statement

We use cookies on this site to enhance your user experience.

By clicking the Accept button, you agree to us doing so. More info on our cookie policy.

View in timeline

Dray Horse Trough - Railway Stables, Rushden

1893 to 1950 Modern

This ceramic dray horse trough is the only surviving relic of the railway dray horse stables in Rushden.

Ceramic dray horse trough © Photo by J. Demet
Dray Horse Trough, Rushden Railway Stables
Oates & Green Ltd, Halifax trademark embossed on the trough © J. Demet
Oates & Green Ltd, Halifax trademark embossed on the trough
Trough end showing the four divisions © J.Demet
The trough viewed from one end showing the four divisions
Trough in situ on the platform at The Station, Rushden © Photo by Jane Demet
Trough in situ on the platform at The Station, Rushden

This salt glazed, orange peel ceramic trough was made by Oates and Green Ltd. of Halifax, which by 1881 was situated at Horley Green Road, Halifax. The company’s trademark, 4.5cms in diameter, is embossed on the top middle section. The trough has the inscription ‘6FT3’ indicating its approximate length of188cms by 47cms wide and 32cms deep with four divisions for accommodating up to four horses, although the greatest wear and tear is evident in the middle two sections. The railway stables at Rushden were in operation between 1893, when the station was opened for the transport of goods, and 1950 when the horses were superseded by the ‘mechanical horse’, the Scammel’.

The railway dray horse stables were situated on the corner of Station Road and High Street, opposite the bottom of Station Approach, now John Clark Way, and could house up to twelve horses.

Saved by the Rushden Historical Transport Society it was used, for many years, as a plant holder and has had some knocks over the years it has stood on the platform at The Station, Rushden.  It still stands on view to visitors, when the bar is open, even if the museum, in the station rooms, is shut. 

Rushden
Contributed by Rushden Transport Museum

Explore related content (external site)

See our disclaimer

Related objects

  • Length of iron  broad gauge railway track © NMAG
    Modern

    Brunel Broad Gauge Bridge Rail

    The railway came to Northamptonshire in the mid-1800s with the Broad Gauge track of Isambard Kingdom Brunel's Great Western Railway and a station at Aynho.

  • Painted wooden scout trek cart used by the 1st kettering Scout Group © NMAG
    Modern

    Scout Trek Cart

    Scout Trek Cart used by the 1st Kettering Scout Group for expeditions and camps, possibly since the troop's formation in 1909.

  • glazed shouldered roof tiles medieval © Andy Chapman
    Medieval to Tudor

    Glazed ceramic shouldered roof tile from St. James' Abbey, Northampton

    This is a rare type of medieval ceramic roof tile, replaced in the 13th century by standard rectangular ceramic or nib tiles used until the 20th century. The rarity of these roof tiles and their association with buildings of high status in Northampton, both religious and secular, is of historical and archaeological significance.

  • Model of Eastern gatehouse, Weedon Royal Ordnance Depot © NMAG
    Stuart to Georgian

    Model of Eastern Gatehouse, Weedon Bec Royal Ordnance Depot

    Model of the Eastern gatehouse of the Royal Ordnance depot, Weedon Bec. It now houses the Visitor Centre and Heritage Exhibition.